What’s in a name?

A name is a significant part of who we are. Every time we call someone by their name, we are reinforcing the meaning of the name because our words are creative, whether we believe it or not. It is said that words have tremendous power, which give out energy and a message that creates a reaction in others. A name like ‘Alexander’ (meaning DEFENDER) was significant in the life of Alexander the Great. Imagine that every time someone called ‘Alexander’, he heard ‘Defender‘! How powerful is that? If you ever lived in the UK in the 90s, you may remember the TV series, ‘Keeping up appearances‘. Hyacinth Bucket always referred to herself as Hyacinth Bouquet. I guess she liked the idea of being called ‘flowers’ rather than a ‘plastic container’. She could have saved herself heartache by changing it but she chose not to.

People from my part of the world, attribute tremendous weight to meanings of names. Some names have a depth of meaning which may not be immediately obvious (positive or negative). My surname is one of such. I recently became aware of the deeper meaning, ‘Resistance‘, which suddenly put things in perspective. Equipped with this new knowledge, I promptly decided to officially change my name. Was I apprehensive about obtaining my parent’s consent? ‘Yes’, but I did it because firstly, changing the name unless through marriage could be perceived as rejection and quite insensitive. Secondly, as a believing Christian, the bible teaches us to ‘honour our mothers and father so it will be well with us’. To me, this means treating them with respect. Finally, there are things that may need to happen first, which a name like ‘resistance’ may hinder. Better to strike while the iron’s hot.

If you are reading this blog, and it resonates with you, it’s not too late to turn your life around in order to live out your true destiny. Research the meaning of your name and change it, if need be.

J

 

14 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?

    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future
    but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!
    https://vimeo.com/82658040

    • Hi,
      Apologies for the late response on this. I’ve been off my blog for a while. In answer to you question, I’m using a standard work press template with my own custom designs ie headers and background. Hope this helps.

      Rgds,

  2. Hi, just needed you to know I have added your internet site to my Google bookmarks as a result of your extraordinary blog layout. But seriously, I think your internet site has a single in the freshest theme I’ve came across. It very helps make reading your blog a lot easier.

  3. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

    • Thank you! I will look into this though I can’t promise when a part two will arise as it requires further research. Nevertheless, you have a good point and I will seriously consider it.

  4. My husband and i have been joyous that Jordan could carry out his web research from your ideas he grabbed when using the web pages. It’s not at all simplistic to simply be making a gift of thoughts that the rest might have been trying to sell. And we also realize we now have you to be grateful to for this. These illustrations you made, the easy blog navigation, the relationships you can help to create – it’s got mostly great, and it’s really letting our son in addition to the family consider that the subject matter is awesome, which is quite essential. Many thanks for the whole thing!

    • Thank you so much for feeding back. Writing a personal blog is new for me and I have been encouraged to continue by the many feedback from everyone. I’m glad your son can use this as a basis for further research.

Leave a Reply

